Order of the Arrow

The Order of the Arrow is the national honor society of the Boy Scouts of America. It uses the traditions and ceremonies of Native American Indians to bestow recognition on scouts selected by their peers that best exemplify the high ideals of Scouting. The Order of the Arrow, or the Brotherhood of Cheerful Service, has the goals to establish the Scout Oath and Law as lifelong guidelines, to provide cheerful service, and to encourage participation in Scouting and camping. The society was created in 1915 by E. Urner Goodman and Carroll A. Edson.

Troop 79 is a member in the Shkote' Pne'Shi (Fire Bird) Chapter, of Owasippe Lodge # 7. The troop has many youth and adult members in the Order of the Arrow. Members of Troop 79 have taken various leadership roles at both the Chapter and Lodge levels.

The OA members meet monthly. Please see our Upcoming Events Calendar for meeting time and place.